She prefers her First World estate

Dear Straits Times,

I refer to the 30 Apr 2011 letter by Ms Khartini Khalid.

Ms Khalid does not see the need for a First World parliament, preferring a First World estate instead. She should realise that our lives don’t just revolve around our housing estate unless we are housewives. Even if we are housewives, we still need to go Orchard Road. We still need to ensure that Orchard Road doesn’t flood. If our First World Government cannot ensure that Orchard Road doesn’t flood, we will have to rely on a First World parliament instead.

Ms Khalid should spare a thought for her husband, father or brother who now face greater competition for jobs and have to contend with the daily crush commuting to and from work. Without a First World parliament, her loved ones will continue to suffer.

Ms Khalid should also realise that our current policies will affect future generations that include her children and her children’s children. HDB prices have shot up into stratosphere. If we don’t bring them back to more sensible levels, her children will end up paying a lot more for their flats when they grow up. Since our government has allowed HDB prices to shoot uncontrollably up, we cannot depend on them to control HDB price. We will need a First World parliament to control HDB prices instead.

Ms Khalid speaks well of her MP, Mr Zainul Abidin. But Mr Low’s constituents too have spoken well of Mr Low. Given Mr Low’s track record at Hougang, Ms Khalid will continue to be in good hands if Aljunied comes under Mr Low.

Ms Khalid worries that Aljunied will become a Third World estate like Hougang if run by Mr Low. Ms Khalid should understand that the situation in Hougang is not Mr Low’s doing but that of the PAP. It is the PAP that has withheld upgrading from opposition wards all these years even though it has no right to do so. By cowing to the fear of being left behind for upgrading projects, Ms Khalid is in fact allowing herself to be bought by the HDB carrot. Ms Khalid should realise that Aljunied has the same rights to upgrading as the rest of the country whether it is under PAP or WP. She should insist on her rights and not let her rights be taken away by the PAP. She should not feel contented trading her vote for something that is rightfully hers to begin with.

Ms Khalid does not wish to sacrifice her estate’s future for WP’s ideal. In doing so, Ms Khalid may end up sacrificing the future of her children and her children’s children instead.

3 Responses to “She prefers her First World estate”

  1. PAP Says:

    49231.8 in reply to 49231.7

    Bros, read this and you will begin to understand WTF is going on:

    She was invited to attend the Prime Minister’s Chinese New Year reception and after the reception, she wrote to PM Lee to praise the good governance of PAP. She was quoted by DPM Wong Kan Seng in one of his speeches [MHA’s Link]:

    COS 2008 Speech Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng, 28 February 2008

    A Personal Story

    39 Let me share with you the views from a young Singaporean, Ms Khartini Khalid, who wrote to the Prime Minister after she attended the Prime Minister’s Chinese New Year reception 10 days ago. Ms Khartini is a grassroots leader and polytechnic lecturer. She said and I quote:

    “I was in the United States last summer on a State Dept-sponsored programme on citizen participation in America. I attended an anti-war rally near Capitol Hill and saw how vibrant the spirit of the people was, due to America’s freedom of speech provision in the constitution. I came back with a tinge of envy for societies with more “freedom” of expression. However, I got a reality check soon after when the Burmese uprising happened, and a few months later, the Hindraf protests.

    It hit me then that the most important thing to a citizen is good governance, because without capable leaders, all the demonstrations and protests in the world would be meaningless.

    While persuasive arguments by Singapore’s critics sometimes manage to seduce me, and while I continue to harbour hopes that the authorities will be less strict over certain matters, I realise that ultimately, I do not want Singapore to be like Burma, or Malaysia, or even the US.

    Sir, it was by no choice of mine that I was born in Singapore. But it is a choice of mine now to stay and contribute to my country and to make a difference in whatever small way I can. I may not always agree with the government but I am proud to be Singaporean. I am happy that as a Malay Singaporean, I claim credit for whatever I do because of my effort and not because of my race. I am happy that I am not part of a system which discriminates, even if it were to bring ‘benefit’ to my race.”

    40 I think most Singaporeans share Ms Khartini’s views too. Like her, they may not always agree with the Government. But like her, they value the good governance that Singapore enjoys. I believe that Singaporeans understand and support the fundamentals that have made Singapore what it is today.

    • trulysingapore Says:

      Sadly, Ms Khartini doesn’t understand that the prosperity that we enjoy stems not mainly from good governance but from good, hardworking people like you and I. Because if you look at China or Taiwan or South Korea where there is quite a fair bit of corruption, the countries prosper just the same.

  2. the diet solution Says:

    Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve
    got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

Leave a Reply

